Zoé

My motivations to join the association :

I’d been hearing Lola and Juliet talk about that project they had in mind for quite some time, and I immediately volunteered to join them on this great adventure. I found that the values promoted by Roots of Smile were noble and essential, especially today. Giving access to education to all children is a vital issue on which we can’t turn our backs. I think we should all feel concerned about this, because it is mostly through education that the situation in those less privileged countries could be improved. It is also an experience that enables us, young adults, to grow a bit more and to become even more aware of how necessary it it for things to change in our society.

What I expect from it :

I’d like to see Roots of Smile enable more and more children be granted access to school, make sure that a disability isn’t an obstacle to that anymore, and make sure that those children have much more opportunities in the future. Today’s world is full of inequalities, and I think education is essential to give those children a chance and ensure that they won’t become new victims of this society. I’d like to see Roots of Smile raise awareness about environmental issues and actions. Beware of Lola, she is an experienced and very persuasive environmentalist, after much discussions on that subject, she even managed to make me stop eating meat.

My role :

I am Roots of Smile’s treasurer. Broadly speaking, part of my role is to manage the funds, to draw up our budgets and be the carrier pigeon between the bank and my colleagues.

Laisser un commentaire